April 17, 2024, 06:19:49 PM

News:

You can now use Vixen to program your Prop-1 and Prop-2 controllers!  Get started quickly and easily, without having to learn PBASIC.  Details in the Library forum.

EZ-3micro Q&A

Started by JonnyMac, February 27, 2011, 03:29:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JonnyMac

February 27, 2011, 03:29:41 PM Last Edit: March 08, 2011, 06:44:22 AM by JonnyMac
Q: So... what is it?

A: The EZ-3mirco is an uber-cool, 3-stage timer designed for simple props and displays.

Q: Why'd you do it?

A: That's easy! A lot of people spend countless -- often frustrating -- hours assembling their own 3-stage timers from off-the shelf parts and usually don't get the kind of performance they want. We made it easy.

Q: What's so special about a 3-stage timer?

A: Nothing much -- unless it has an EFX-TEK logo on it. Then and there you know it was designed to be user-friendly, has great support (if you ever need it), is quality-built, and fairly priced.

Q: I'm new to controls. How does a 3-stage timer work?

A: Good question! A 3-stage timer works as its name suggests: in three stages. After getting a trigger (start) input, there is a wait stage before the output is active. This is set with the PRE potentiometer. When that stage finishes the output is on for a time set by the RUN potentiometer.  Finally, there is a hold-off period before the device will trigger again; this is set by the OFF potentiometer.

In the EZ-3micro we actually have another output called PULSE (which is copied to AUDIO). This is a very short output which can be used in applications that need a quick "blip" at the beginning of the run period (e.g., for starting an audio player).

This diagram shows the time relationship of the stages.  Each stage on the EZ-3micro is indicated with a color-coded LED next to the associated pot.

Q: What makes this different from any of the plans I can find on the Internet?