May 18, 2024, 07:27:00 PM

News:

Got VSA?  Want to use your Prop-SX?  Now you can!  See the VSA section of the Library forum for Prop-SX code that works with VSA.

Newbie here with Stupid Questions

Started by blakrapter, August 02, 2007, 06:02:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

blakrapter

August 02, 2007, 06:02:55 PM Last Edit: August 02, 2007, 06:06:54 PM by blakrapter
Hello everyone,

I am new here and new to programing in general.  I have played with the BS2 on a few occassions over the past few years, but probably no more than 5 or 6 hours combined.  Anyway, I am working on a project that needs a lot of inputs to control a lot of outputs.  So, I found a board for the BS2 that will give me the inputs I need and a serial out to the EFX DC-16.  I have figured out how to control the outputs, BUT, have done it by playing with the provided test code.  I need to know what all of the initial "stuff" is so I know what I need to put into my code.  I downloaded the test code for the BS2 http://www.efx-tek.com/downloads/dc-16_test.zip  Can someone please walk me through whats going on in the following sections:

1.  Constants
2.  Variables
3.  Initialization

Are these sections something I should just copy and paste into my code, or should they be simplified?  I don't have a clue whats going on, so I don't know what can/should be removed or added.

If it makes a difference, my controller board will have to ouput the serial signal from pin 15, not 0.  I think thats just a matter of changing the assignment in the I/O definitions though.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!  Thanks in advance!

<----------------------EDITED LATER-------------------------------------------------->
I forgot two things that I should have asked before.

1.  With the setup described above, do I need to change the ULN ICs?
2.  Should the jumper be in or out with the BS2 controlling the board?

Thanks!

JonnyMac

>:( <Grouchy Guy Mode>