May 18, 2024, 05:29:00 PM

News:

You can now use Vixen to program your Prop-1 and Prop-2 controllers!  Get started quickly and easily, without having to learn PBASIC.  Details in the Library forum.

Trigger Lead Lengths

Started by CoffinBound, June 29, 2008, 08:24:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

CoffinBound

When creating our own trigger cables, are there any guidelines we should keep in mind? Especially regarding cable lengths?

For example, if I use 22AWG wire, how long of a run can I make that will function properly?

TIA.
CoffinBound

JonnyMac

Here's how I would do it.  Granted, I'm a very conservative designer, but then, the things I build tend to work. 

A. The resistance of #22 stranded (7/30) is 0.015 Ohms per foot
-- reference: http://www.ece.seas.gwu.edu/~ecelabs/appnotes/PDF/techdat/swc.pdf

B. The input threshold for the Prop-1 interpreter is 1.5 volts.

C. The pull-down (SETUP = DN) resistance is 4.7K

Knowing these things and taking the conservative approach, I would ensure that the length of wire plus switch resistance plus connections allowed for 4v at the input pin when the button is pressed.  Keep in mind that the longer your wire, the more likely you'll pick up electrical interference (you're creating a big antenna); you can mitigate this by using a twisted pair and software debouncing of the input.

Okay, how do we solve for the wire resistance?  Technically, we can breakdown the circuit like this:

(The +5v in this circuit comes from P6.R)

Again, being very conservative (always best with these things), we will allow for no more than a one volt drop through the wire, button, and connections -- this means that we want 4 volts at P6.W when the button is pressed.  We can find the total (RT) resistance of the circuit plus the pull-down with a bit of algebra:

RT / 5 = 4700 / 4 ... RT = 4700 / 4 x 5 = 5875