May 18, 2024, 09:31:59 PM

News:

You can now use Vixen to program your Prop-1 and Prop-2 controllers!  Get started quickly and easily, without having to learn PBASIC.  Details in the Library forum.

RELAY QUESTION!

Started by michilson, November 11, 2008, 09:59:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

michilson

Saw a project where someone was using relays to turn christmas lights on and off.

I looked up the Relays and here's the model numbers

http://www.mcmaster.com/
7266K31

Im not a electronics designer so my background it electrnics is limited.

I see they have 1, 2, 3 circuits
now the question i have is does that mean the Single Feed is switching 3 Contacts (one pre Circuit)

or does that mean the Relay has 3 Seperate Feeds That each have there own Contact?

This may be a stupid question but just would like a better understanding.

I have a feeling that it's 1 feed (12v source) to switch 3 120V circuits if my thinking is correct.

Thanks for the Help Guys!

JonnyMac

That's described as a 5-pin relay.  Two of the pins will be the coil; you'll connect these between V+ and the OUTx terminal controlling the relay.  The other three pins are likely common (you feed hot to this), normally open (hot when relay is on), and normally closed (hot when relay is off).

The five-contact version is called a SPDT (single-pole, double-throw) relay; it has one pole that can go two ways.  The eight-contact version has another [independent] set of contacts (Com, NO, NC) and is called DPDT (double-pole, double-throw).  This schematic shows an SPDT connected to OUT0 and a DPDT relay connected to OUT1.

Now... for the price of one of these relays you can get a Crydom SSR from us.  The cost of the RC-4 board is offset by the cost of relay sockets and wiring inconvenience with mechanical relays.  And, do you really want to hear clack-clack-clickity-clack while running your Christmas lights? -- you will with mechanical relays.