May 18, 2024, 01:21:47 AM

News:

Got VSA?  Want to use your Prop-SX?  Now you can!  See the VSA section of the Library forum for Prop-SX code that works with VSA.

100% total newbie remote haunter. Where do I begin?

Started by DrDoom, June 07, 2007, 04:38:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DrDoom

Hi group,
I do a small garage halloween venue every year (Dr Doom's Haunted Halls) This year I want to try this. I am fairly PC literate. I will need to activate probably 2 or 3 motor-driven props, lighting, possibly a few sound sources. I will also need sensors, but I am assuming those can communicate directly to the props with no need for PC interface?
Questions are:
Minimum PC hardware requirements
What software/ programming etc
What prop motors ( will any servo motor be adaptable?)
Any other starter resources?
Thanks for your time
Dave

JonnyMac

If you're looking to do embedded control then you've certainly come to the right place, and if you're willing to invest a little time to learn to program our controllers then the sky is the limit; we have customers all over the country doing all kinds of cool things.  A quick visit to our Complete Projects forum will give you an idea.

If your PC can run Windows XP then you can program our controllers, and we'll help you -- every step of the way -- as you're learning.

And... if you'd like to experiment with PC-based control then there's a really cool program called Vixen (www.vixenlights.com) that we're using with our hardware to do some neat things.