May 18, 2024, 03:21:24 AM

News:

Got VSA?  Want to use your Prop-SX?  Now you can!  See the VSA section of the Library forum for Prop-SX code that works with VSA.

Activating a DVD or video

Started by WickedWoods, March 26, 2008, 08:58:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

WickedWoods

Would it be possible to use one of your controllers to, as part of a sequence of events, start playing a DVD?  Ideally, the TV screen would be dark when the video is not playing, but I am open to alternatives.

I have never used your products before, but after reading about the flexibility and great support you offer, I am strongly considering it.

Thanks.

Caretaker.CCI

Here's one possibility (depending on your skill level). If your DVD player works using an IR remote you could control your DVD player with a Prop-1 (or 2 or SX). You would transmit the appropriate signal using an infrared LED telling the unit to do whatever you want it to do. Parallax has a great book called "Understanding Signals". I think Jon wrote it but I'll have to check on that. This would be a challenge if you're a beginner but fairly easy if you have some experience writing code and using an oscilloscope.

Connecting directly to the DVD player seems more challenging but perhaps someone here on the support forums has had some experience with that.

Greg

livinlowe

You could have an rc4 turn power on to the tv, so it would be totally dark (so you wouldnt see it glow, even with a black screen. The infrared to tell the dvd to play would be cool!
Shawn
Scaring someone with a prop you built -- priceless!

Caretaker.CCI