May 17, 2024, 11:15:11 PM

News:

You can now use Vixen to program your Prop-1 and Prop-2 controllers!  Get started quickly and easily, without having to learn PBASIC.  Details in the Library forum.

Newbie Questions To the Pro's!!!

Started by michilson, November 03, 2008, 07:27:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

michilson

Hi Guys

Let me first say that I'm new to the Haunted House Prop Building and Controls Knowledge so please stick with me.

The first few questions I have are about the Prop 1 & Prop 2 Controllers

Here's a Small list of the props im building and a list of what I need the controllers to do.

Drop Panel – Turn off a Light, Turn on a different light, Open a Valve, Time out, Close Valve, Reverse The lights, and Engage 2 Fog machines (will use relays to run them)

Cemetery Gates – Open Valve, Time, Close Valve, Start MP3 Player.

Cemetery Tomb – Turn on Light, Open/Close Valve Rapidly, Time, Open Same Valve, Turn On Strobe, Open Second Valve, Time, Close Second Valve, Turn Off Strobe, Close First Valve, Turn Off Light

Casket – Open/Close Valve Rapidly, Turn on Light, Turn off light

Air Canons – time, Open Valve

Hallway Doors – Open Valve, Turn on Strobe, Time, Turn off Strobe, Close Valve.

All of the props are operated by Motion Sensors except for Hallway Doors (Infra Red Beam)

Here are the Questions:

1.   Do these controllers run the Programs from a local memory storage or does it need to be connected to the computer.

2.   I think most of my needs will be run from the Prop 2 controllers, with relays running all the lighting needs. I'll be running all the Valves as a 12v system at that point Wired directly to the controllers. Does this sound about right?

3.   I know a little of VBA coding does the Program used to operate the controllers work in a lot of the same ways?

4.   Is there a way to manually trip each controller at its location on the PC board rather than tripping the PIR?