May 17, 2024, 10:00:36 PM

News:

You can now use Vixen to program your Prop-1 and Prop-2 controllers!  Get started quickly and easily, without having to learn PBASIC.  Details in the Library forum.

What hardware will I need?

Started by ryagl, December 09, 2008, 10:54:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ryagl

Hi I am brand new to the advanced techniques used to animate props.  I will prob. be on here often, so please forgive me in advance for asking so many questions.  I am going to make an electric chair and animate a prop.  I will either use a pneumatic prop or a wiper motor to move the prop.  I will have sound to make the prop scream.  I will use a fog machine and lighting.  I will use a sensor to active the sequence.  Here's what I think I need, and please let me know if I am wrong. 

Prop-1
AP-8 for audio
PIR sensor for activation

Here's where the newbee in me comes in play.  I don't know what else I might need.  I'm not sure what to use for either the pneumatic or the motor but from what I read I need to use a standard relay or the RC-4 Board.   Can anyone tell me the difference between these and how they work with the prop-1.  One other question and I think I'm done for right now.  If I use a wiper motor to move my prop it is normally powered by a simple battery charger.   How do I bipass this and use it with the prop-1. 

Thank you

Ryan

menehune

December 09, 2008, 11:58:20 PM #1 Last Edit: December 10, 2008, 12:13:29 AM by menehune
I am assuming you have no experience so I will try to list everything you may need.

-First, you will need a computer to load the programs into the prop. 
-I recommend you get the Prop1 trainer kit since it will include the prop power supply, serial cable, serial adaptor and a prop trainer which may help you during programming and testing.