May 02, 2024, 02:17:33 PM

News:

Be sure to checkout our Vixen interfaces in the Library forum -- if you want PC automation at near zero cost, EFX-TEK and Vixen is a great combination of tools.

Building a Memorial with the Prop-SX

Started by Ryanm0085, May 03, 2011, 09:14:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ryanm0085

I have been giving the task to build a memorial for one of my Fire Companies members that was killed in a motorcycle accident.  It's not that advanced i don't think, but i've never used any of the efx-tek products with dmx.  I have been using the Prop-1 and Prop-2 for a few years now.  I can't say i am a pro or even an expert with either one.  However, i am very familiar with each and have been able to write programs for each.  I have not used a prop-sx at all and not even familiar with it.  It seems though that it is what I am looking for.

The memorial is going to consist of a motor that turns a wheel, DMX LED Lighting, and a motion sensor.  The main reason for using the prop-sx is to be able to change the color of the LED lighting.  Also i would like to incorporate an LCD screen. 

I'd like to design everything so when the motion sensor detects motion, it will turn on the motor for the wheel as well as the lights to an amber color for lets say 20 min.  I think its pretty simple.  However, i have been asked to make it so the lights can be changed for different times of the year.  For example a rotation between red and green on Christmas or blue and red on the 4th of July.  I was thinking that maybe by using an LCD Screen and a few momentary push buttons they could toggle threw different settings and be able to view which one is active on the LCD or which one to change to. 

Another option that i think would be nice would be a timer option.  I am not sure if it is even possible, but maybe a 24 hour timer that we could set to start the sequence and a time where it would turn off.