May 02, 2024, 12:02:30 PM

News:

Be sure to checkout our Vixen interfaces in the Library forum -- if you want PC automation at near zero cost, EFX-TEK and Vixen is a great combination of tools.

Question about EEPROM

Started by gmatocha, April 11, 2012, 08:40:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gmatocha

Wow, look like I'll be the first person in a while to post here. Here's my total newbie question:

I'm using a PropSX (for the first time) that I picked up a couple of years ago but never got around to using in a project. I'm using an SX Key, and the SX-Key v3.3.0 software, all coding in SX/B. So far so good - my program is working great. My program is largely table driven, and now my tables have outgrown the 2k of flash memory in the SX and need to expand to the EEPROM. I found the "prop-sx_template.sxb" file that has code that reads/writes to the EEPROM via I2C. Great.

My question is, what's the recommended way of loading up the EEPROM with my tables? I could write a "loader" program that loads blocks of data from memory into the EEPROM, but they would be limited to <2k per run, so loading the full 32K would require over 16 runs!
I've done a lot of searching, but haven't run across an answer. This makes me think there's something very simple I've overlooked. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Gene

JonnyMac

April 11, 2012, 09:01:25 AM #1 Last Edit: April 11, 2012, 09:03:21 AM by JonnyMac
If you're comfortable with PC coding you could create data on that end and send it through the serial port to the SX for storage in the EEPROM.  This process is used in our EZ-8 which has a 32K eeprom.  It's a little bit of work because you need to have a mechanism for receiving a block of bytes in the SX, writing them to your EEPROM, and then letting the PC know you're ready for more.  For obvious reasons I cannot release the full source code of the EZ-8, but I can show you a small portion of code that handles the exchange from the PC. 

Download_Show: