May 16, 2024, 11:27:01 PM

News:

You can now use Vixen to program your Prop-1 and Prop-2 controllers!  Get started quickly and easily, without having to learn PBASIC.  Details in the Library forum.

Rolling Broadsides...

Started by StrategicCommand, March 13, 2013, 07:27:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

StrategicCommand

Hello everyone,

I am a model builder and painter. I am currently building a cross section model of a 74 gun Napoleonic Ship of the Line. It will have model soldiers on it which I am building and painting. I will also be building and painting the ship and display area as well.

HERE IS WHERE I NEED YOU!!!!

I am looking for find a way to have ten cannons fire a rolling broadside of "smoke" as well as light up with an LED, sound effect, and once that happens I would like the cannon to also move backwards, and then slowly move back into starting position.

This video is my inspiration for this model. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L2WdU3Zkeig&feature=share

I figure I will need some sort of pressurized smoke, and led, speaker and sound effects and some sort of actuator arm to move the cannon, but engineering is so beyond my scope that I am reaching out for help.

Should this be possible it would be great to have all the effects work, but I will settle for just the smoke and led effect.

Thanks in advance for any and all help!

I will buy all the parts needed if you can help me figure out the assembly and whatever else it takes...

The scale will be: 28-30mm. Or roughly 1/40 - 1/44th scale.

The cannons I am using are hollow plastic and easily can be converted to hold a tube for the smoke to be pumped through. The LED wiring can either be in the tubing or taped to the tubing on the outside to run it through the model to get to the cannon. My main area of uncertainty is the controlling equipment and programing that will tell the smoke to pump, the led to go off make a cannon sound and then cycle a waiting period and than start again.