May 16, 2024, 10:42:24 PM

News:

You can now use Vixen to program your Prop-1 and Prop-2 controllers!  Get started quickly and easily, without having to learn PBASIC.  Details in the Library forum.

Triggers

Started by avgjoefriday, February 02, 2008, 06:47:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

avgjoefriday

So I am new to the efx/haunt world and still trying to get my feet good and wet to try and set up a home haunt for 2008. One of the first things that seems pretty important in creating props is in deciding on the trigger that you are going to use. So I have been reading these forums and poking around the internet and it looks like a good short list would include:

* A manual trigger.  The haunt operator sees the TOT (Trick or Treater) at the proper position and presses a button to trigger the prop. I found that www.evilusions.com, a friend of efx-tek will supply them already wired to plug into the Prop 1 and 2.

* A floor mat trigger. The TOT steps onto a obscured floor mat and triggers the prop. www.evilusions.com also has these wired up for the prop1/2.

* A Passive Infra-Red (PIR) sensor. The TOT comes into range and the PIR "senses" someone in its range and triggers. www.efx-tek.com stocks these all wired up and ready to go for the props. (Just got mine yesterday!)

* A Beam Break Sensor aka RetroReflective Sensor. The TOT walks through the haunt and steps into a beam of light causing it to not bounce back to its source and thereby triggers the prop.  evilusions has these available for the props.

So these are the ones I have found that appear to be generally used in haunts. Are there any others I have missed (and possible sources for the parts)?

Thanks
Scott

Caretaker.CCI

Scott: