May 04, 2024, 05:08:02 PM

News:

Got VSA?  Want to use your Prop-SX?  Now you can!  See the VSA section of the Library forum for Prop-SX code that works with VSA.

Programming DMX lighting shows and running thru HC-8

Started by gadget-evilusions, October 26, 2016, 08:55:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gadget-evilusions

I have limited knowledge about DMX. The most I have done is connecting multiple hc/8 together.

This may have been done previously, but I couldn't find it. Is it possible, to program in vixen a series of lighting shows, and is the hc/8 to send the DMX data to something like this? High Power 24 Channel 3A/CH DMX512 Controller Led Decoder Dimmer For Project https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00Q1N1NVK/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_bSweybMCTPMCF

I have programmed animatronic programs in vixen, and used the hc-8 as the output card, but never with DMX for lighting purposes.
Brian
Evilusions LLC
www.evilusions.com for all your pneumatic components

JonnyMac

That is doable. You would create the Vixen show, put it on a micro SD, then have a routine that read the Vixen data and inserted it into the DMX output stream.

Considerations:
-- a standard DMX "universe" of 512 bytes takes about 22.8 milliseconds to transmit
-- the HC-8+ DMX output code (written by yours truly) can send shorter universes for a faster refresh rate (do this for Steve Wang projects)
-- will you have more than 24 channels in your Vixen show (that device has 24 outputs)?

I can knock together a program for you if I know a few more specifics.
Jon McPhalen
EFX-TEK Hollywood Office

livinlowe

Jon, et all-
Looking at the Vixen forums I had a question- is this also know as the E1.31 protocol?
Shawn
Scaring someone with a prop you built -- priceless!

gadget-evilusions

22.8ms is plenty fast for me. It's just for scene lighting, nothing crazy like you do for Steve.