May 03, 2024, 05:07:48 AM

News:

Got VSA?  Want to use your Prop-SX?  Now you can!  See the VSA section of the Library forum for Prop-SX code that works with VSA.

Product Preview :: EZ-3 3-Stage Timer Add-On

Started by JonnyMac, November 17, 2008, 02:35:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JonnyMac

November 17, 2008, 02:35:44 PM Last Edit: November 17, 2008, 02:38:36 PM by JonnyMac
We've seen our friends struggle, sometimes spending hours, to build a "simple" 3-stage timer, usually from handful of 555 timer ICs, assorted RC components, etc.  Honestly, we just shake our heads.  That said, until now it wasn't terribly easy (for complete newbies) to turn the Prop-1 into a 3-stage timer -- well, that's all about to change.

At the suggestion of a good friend we're creating a little Prop-1 add-on called the EZ-3; it will let you turn your Prop-1 into a 3-stage timer.  Our plan is to sell it in a kit (with a pre-programmed Prop-1 and transformer) or as an accessory for you experts.  The up-side about using the Prop-1 as the control element is that we can modify the programs for all kinds of applications.

Here's what the little dude looks like:

As you can probably tell it plugs right onto the Prop-1 like the Trainer does.  P7 is left open for serial control to accessories, P6 is the trigger input (note that we added a dry-contact terminal block and a manual start button), P5 is the trigger delay pot, P4 is the on-time pot, and P3 is the off-time pot.  A yellow LED (near the delay pot) is connected to P2/OUT2 and can be turned on for the trigger delay period; a green LED (on time) is connected to P1/OUT1 which is the intended control output.  Finally, a red LED (off time) is connected to P0/OUT0.

For those of you who might be interested in this dude please let us know what you'd like in a "standard" program.  Of course, any of you participating in these forums can get a custom program just for asking.